purpleyin: Cameron from Sarah Connor Chronicles looking to the side (Default)
[personal profile] purpleyin
On my watch list was.

TV:
Lost - getting awesome again in my opinion.

Drive - which didn't materialise, damn why can't they give us those last 2 eps!

Boston Legal - wonderful, as it always is.

Ugly Betty - I just continue to love the surprises and the character growth, so hope there will be S2.

Heroes - I love end of the world type drama and future selfs are so wonderfully fucked up; I enjoy character suffering far too much.

Supernatural - always love it but this one really drives the Dean adoration up a notch, I started out mainly a Sam fan but bless Dean, he's so angstridden.

Scrubs - is it me or does it almost always end on a downer this season (6)? Still, they really do more for other characters now and I enjoy that, oh and the sheer randomness they include.

My Name Is Earl - still lovin' it, especially fun since I could relate to the shop division a bit, easy to see if quite exagerated for comedy.

Also S1 Smallville, watched the first disc as we've started playing catch up. Honestly, everyone seems to want to be/fancy Lana and that's not so funny. Nice as Kristin Kreuk is, I don't find Lana that hot, though head cheerleaders seem to get idolised in all films. She's also playing a character who seems fairly similar to her Edgemont one... if with a little less bite early on in the show. But anyway, I kind of enjoy the freak of the week deal even if some powers are laughably acquired. Plus, whenever Mark Snow does music it sounds so samey to me, like music for X files and Smallville melt together... Slightly offputting but eh, it wouldn't really stop me watching.

FILMS:

- "Somewhere in time", watched for Christoper Reeve, mainly rented because [livejournal.com profile] fuskyb has a Superman fascination and wanted to see him as someone else. Nice concept, not badly acted but somehow meh. A few cheesy moments. Sacrilege as this may be to fuskyb I'd love to see a remake of the film.

- "John Tucker Must Die" pretty cliche, predictable, sometimes cringeworthy in prank execution but nevertheless good comedy acting, fairly enjoyable to rent if you want some fluff. Also fun to see Dan Payne playing "Skip".

- "Hard Candy" was...psychologically draining, did sort of bore me with it's slowness at times but was intriguing enough anyway, so I kept watching. You'd probably like it if you like plays, given the nature of the film and fact it was written by a playwright. Relatively low budget, filmed in two small locations and with only 5 actors, one of whom was Sandra Oh from Grey's Anatomy and the main character played by Ellen Paige who you might just about recognise as Kitty Pryde from X-men: The Last Stand; somehow they managed to make her 17/18, look a believable 14...

Date: 2007-05-05 10:43 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] doylefan22.livejournal.com
Supernatural - always love it but this one really drives the Dean adoration up a notch, I started out mainly a Sam fan but bless Dean, he's so angstridden.

Oh Dean...I can't help but adore that character. I started out the other way round from you - I loved Dean and liked Sam. Sam's grown on me more in the second season though. I think that's because he's a better character now. Dean will always be my one of the boys though.

Date: 2007-05-06 02:46 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] hypercaz.livejournal.com
HAHAHA Somewhere in Time. My mum bought that DVD and I watched it...uuugh...it's erm...corny. Cheesy. lol and Christopher Reeve is so awkward. But I'd watch it again...hee squee.

Heroes angst is just...well it's great...and and yes I agree strangely ... fun to watch...yes...suffering hmm...

As to Smallville, hang on, it gets better. Sometimes. Season 5 is awesome and it's stayed better since.I own first four seasons currently. ^_^

And I'm getting Supernatural season 1 for my birthday... =D

Oh hey and Jensen Ackles is in smallville season 4, heads up. ;)

Date: 2007-05-06 01:23 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] missyvortexdv.livejournal.com
I only really noticed big awkwardsness at the kiss near the end, which made no characer sense since surely they'd been sexin' it the night before. Love story corny most definitely. And certainly rather WTF over falling in love with a picture and then automatically thinking, I must time travel to her!

I've seen S1 before and S2 mostly, and some of I think S5 intermittently. Starting from the beginning because some areas were patchy in my memory and to make sure I don't miss anything important. I guess Lana is the annoying character, though I liked her in whatever recent season I saw some of.

w00t - Supernatural rocks. I got S1 for Christmas.

Yeah, there are plenty of people appearing in Smallville. I can't wait to see Richard Kahan in it, but I believe that's S5. Long way away.

Date: 2007-05-06 05:08 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] planetkiller.livejournal.com
Hard Candy was the first film I saw at an art house. I remember every man in the cinema simultaneously wincing and crossing their legs at the same time. :)

That's also where the tale of the Lazarus phone occurred. I have so many good memories of watching Hard Candy...

Date: 2007-05-06 01:06 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] missyvortexdv.livejournal.com
ROFL! I really thought she was doing it... Much cooler that she didn't though. The lazarus phone?

The first film I saw at an art house was In The Cut.

Profile

purpleyin: Cameron from Sarah Connor Chronicles looking to the side (Default)
purpleyin

December 2024

S M T W T F S
1 234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 11:57 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios